The Last Melon…

To My Favorite Humans,


Hello! wow its crazy to know this is my last email…Β  These last 18 months have been quite the ride! I wouldn’t trade any of it. I am so grateful to have served in the Iowa Des Moines Mission. I am so lucky to have had the companions I had. I needed each and every one of them. I have learned so much about the gospel but especially about myself. I have loved my mission.
This week was the departing temple trip. So all of us leaving missionaries got together to party at Nauvoo. It was comforting to be back there again πŸ™‚ I’ve missed the temple. I think want I enjoyed the most from that trip was Carthage. The senior couple there has been there the last 23 months and they are finishing their mission soon as well. But when that Elder testified of Joseph Smith the spirit came so fast! I was very impressed with how the tour went. I am grateful for the knowledge that Joseph Smith is a prophet and that the True Church has been restored through him. I also have a new found love for his brother Hyrum. There isn’t as much said about him, but he was crucial in Heavenly Father’s plan as well. Joseph and Hyrum were probably The best Missionary companionship. they always had each other to rely on.
A funny story this week, we do service each week at the Villages. (A senior living center) and This week we were invited to go to their New Year’s party! (On Dec 30 at 2pm lol) It was so fun! We played lots of fun games with the residents and things got pretty heated. hahaha:) One resident, Carl, was asleep on the couch when the noise makers were passed out…. lets just say he was unhappy to be woken up from his nap and lots of angry swearing occurred. it took 3 nurses to get him to go to his room. hahaha:) My companion and I were holding back our laughter because Harold and Rosemary (Late 80’s) Were just having a ball with their noise makers! and they just kept going! πŸ™‚ Oh! It was a fun time! πŸ™‚
I gave a talk this last Sunday, they put me as the last speaker and told me I could talk about whatever I wanted. So… of course I talked about Missionary Work:) My whole talk pretty much stemmed from one scripture. Mat. 16:25. its amazing what the spirit can do as you ponder even 21 words of a scripture. I shared my conversion story with them and I guess I made most everyone cry haha :’) one girl who was 13 told me that she had never cried in Sacrament meeting before. and her Grandpa came up to me later and thanked me, He said that his 13 year old granddaughter felt the spirit today during my talk and as he said the words we’re both crying… Man I just cry all the time I guess… haha πŸ™‚
Sister Anderson and I also taught in Relief Society this week. on…. MISSIONARY WORK! Woot!! πŸ™‚ haha It was awesome! this whole Month is pretty much all going to be about Missionary work. πŸ™‚ We taught the “Who? What? When? Why? and How?” of Missionary work. focusing mainly on the How πŸ™‚ the Sister’s loved it and talked about practicing answering questions and leaving invitation for FHE. πŸ™‚
Its surreal for me knowing this is the last email… but I hope that from all the emails you’ve received from me these last 18 months and 3 weeks, that you know that I love my Savior Jesus Christ. I am changed through his grace. I know Joseph Smith is a prophet of God and I know that the Book of Mormon is true. Being a Missionary has been one of the best choices i’ve ever made in my life. I love the people here. I will always remember them and how they’ve strengthen me.
The Church is true, the Book is Blue, Satan stinks, and I LOVE ALL OF YOU!!
See you Soon!
Your friend and missionary
Sister Brittany Anne Pope
Displaying RSCN4261[1].JPG
Displaying DSCN4266[1].JPG
Displaying DSCN4284[1].JPG
Displaying DSCN4306[1].JPG
Displaying DSCN4310[1].JPG
Displaying DSCN4238[1].JPG
Displaying DSCN4255[1].JPG
Leave a Reply

